Sonata Arctica Frontman To Guest On New Powerglove Album

July 26, 2010

Source: Blabbermouth

Video game metal masters POWERGLOVE will release their new album, “Saturday Morning Apocalypse”, on September 28 via eOne Music.

“‘Saturday Morning Apocalypse’ came out brighter and darker, faster and slower than our previous releases,” says drummer Bassil Silver.

This is POWERGLOVE’s first record with eOne Music and the band is taking its songs in a new direction.

These new tracks are based off the nostalgia of Saturday morning cartoons and movies that anyone who’s grown up in the ’80s will immediately recognize.

Silver adds, “No matter what we write, we know all the comments will be about how bizarre we look, how ridiculous this track list is, and the fact that we somehow got Tony Kakko [SONATA ARCTICA] to sing the Pokemon theme for us. We would tell you how clown-rapingly awesome it is, but you can decide that for yourself when the album comes out in September.”

“Saturday Morning Apocalypse”, POWERGLOVE’s power metal renditions of ’80s cartoon themes, will feature the following tracks:

01. X-Men
02. Gotta Catch Em All
03. The Real Adventures of Johnny Quest
04. This Is Halloween
05. Batman
06. Transformers
07. Inspector Gadget
08. Heffalumps and Woozles (Winnie The Pooh)
09. The Simpsons (feat. Tony Kakko)
10. The Flintstones
11. Gotta Catch ‘Em All (feat. Tony Kakko)

POWERGLOVE recently completed two separate, successful, tours with HAMMERFALL and SONATA ARTICA. Watch for them this summer as they continue to add dates for video game festivals and live performances.

POWERGLOVE is composed of four battle-hardened rockers out of Boston: Alex Berkson, Bassil Silver-Hajo, Chris Marchiel, and Nick Avila. This band shreds metal renditions of everything from old-school 8-bit video game classics to contemporary blockbusters, all with a heavy metal attitude.”


Receive email updates on new Powerglove tracks, events, news, and much more!